Nov 15, 2017

Three new medical faculties to be established

According to a plan by the government to expand medical education, a decision has been taken to establish three new medical faculties, according to the University Grants Commission.

Accordingly, new medical faculties will be established at the Wayamba, Sabaragamuwa and Moratuwa Universities.

With the commencement of these new medical faculties it would pave the way for a greater number of medical students to pursue their higher education and will also minimise the current competitiveness, the UGC said.

The Finance Minister has allocated Rs. 1,250 million through the budget.

In addition, with the aim of developing the Ruhuna University Medical Faculty, a Professorial Unit is to be established at the Karapitiya Hospital. For this purpose, Rs. 50 million has been allocated through the budget, the UGC further stated.

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.